Build Questions

Area to show off your Custom Build threads.

Topic author
Willy D

Build Questions

Post by Willy D »

Hey Guys, I'm new to the "Build a Wagoneer" thing, lol, and I have a few questions I'm hoping someone or several someones can answer for me. I have an '88 Grand Wagoneer that is my project. I'm working on installing a mild lift (3") and am told that I have to drop the gas tank and skid plate to get to the front eye bolt on the driver's side rear spring. I have also read that this bolt is sometimes tack welded in place so removal of tank is not necessary. Does anyone know which way this might be on my particular beast? Also, I've been reading that the skid plate is what holds the tank in place, yet I've seen straps for sale for this truck. Again any ideas? And while on the subject of skid plates, can I run the truck without it (at least for a bit) if I have the straps on it or is this not a good idea? My skid plate is shot along with a good chunk of frame. I have a friend that is a heavy welder (train cars) that is going to help me with the frame replacement parts and installation. Not real thrilled with the idea of $400+ for a new skid plate, so may fabricate my own instead. Any help with these questions would be greatly appreciated. I'm gonna start working on it this weekend. Thanks in advanced and happy Jeepin'!

Renodemona

Re: Build Questions

Post by Renodemona »