Hydro-Boost upgrade

Modified FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
mineral co

Hydro-Boost upgrade

Post by mineral co »

Hello Folks,

This is my first time posting on an FSJ forum, but I think I've done enough reading to, hopefully, make some of my initial questions less annoying.

I have had my '84 GW since '95, but it hasn't been touched since '99. For various reasons, I am waking it up again and it will become my daily driver. I live in SW Colorado, so the ol' girl will also do double-duty as my off-road driver, though I don't intend to do any extreme stuff. However, you never know for sure what you might encounter that you can't back out of.

The brakes are not what they used to be! Firstly, the pedal goes about half-way down and then firms up okay. To me, this says the master cylinder has a seal in either the front or rear circuit that is letting fluid past, so it's time for a new master cylinder.

All my automotive experience is with a certain German mark, and a situation like this would say that it is also appropriate to go through the calipers and wheel cylinders, and replace all the brake hoses too. That's all well and good but, at best, that brings me back to the stopping power I had a dozen years ago. Back then, I never considered the GW's brakes to be inadequate in any way but most of my driving was highway, with only very light off-roading.

Here in Mineral County, even some of the common and basic routes can hit 20 degrees, and one popular one is closer to 30 degrees. I think I want a bit more confidence in the brakes. Towards that end, the Hydroboost seems to be the easiest way to get brakes I can sit on and stay where I'm at without killing myself (figuratively or literally!).