1991 grand wagoneer 5.3 motor only swap

For everything related to using Fuel Injection in an FSJ.

Topic author
Jeepfamily

1991 grand wagoneer 5.3 motor only swap

Post by Jeepfamily »

I had been contemplating on what to do with my grand wagoneer for a couple years. Back story is my grandfather bought it used in 1993 and drove it til the day he died(almost literally). My grandmother drove it during the Idaho winters for another 10 years or so before she ended up in a nursing home. I bought it from her and got a one way plane ticket to Idaho and drove it home to Oregon. I've had it for 4 years now. Total miles on the clock 136000.

Everything on it was original and everything works except the overhead compass/temp display. I drove it every once in awhile as I had other vehicles. This last year we paired the fleet down to one family vehicle and the jeep(much to my wife's displeasure, shes not a fan of the jeep). Being that it's a "rare" 91 final edition I wrestled with keeping it stock or modifying it. I finally got tired of being eye to eye with Subaru owners at stop lights and lifted it 4" and put 31's on it.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/195173040 ... ed-public/

Now the original 360 ran ok but was gutless with 31s(stock 3.31 factory gearing) and was showing it's age. It leaked oil from every seal, the carb needed rebuilt, the alternator was starting to intermittently not work, and the starter was in the same boat. The nail in the coffin was it vapor locking on me during a 90+ degree summer day while going over the cascade mountains for a camping trip. So I started planning.....