Recovery Gear and Techniques

Area for General FSJ related chat.

Topic author
Yeller

Recovery Gear and Techniques

Post by Yeller »

I know many here don’t wheel but I wanted to at least see if there was interest in this discussion here, I feel it is important. In the last few years there has been some gear trends that I find useful and in some cases safer for recovery. I have been in the process of updating my recovery gear, which isn’t easy, I’ve been collecting stuff for several decades. So I’ll list the items that have changed over the years, the ones I’m working on and the reasons why. I’d love to hear some of y’all’s input and hopefully evolve into recovery techniques, which I hope it does, can’t count the times I’ve seen things happen and no one have the first clue as to what to do. Let’s start with gear.

Most can agree a winch is almost a must have. In my opinion it must have synthetic rope and not wire cable. Cable is heavy, so it is harder on you and the vehicle carrying it. Cable is also less safe, if it fails, the release of energy is violent, flying objects can maim and kill. Rope is lighter, can be handled without gloves, recommended but not required and doesn’t store near the energy of steel cable.

Winch hooks, putting it in its own category, I’ve stopped using a hook, the thimble in the end of the rope is more than sufficient. A hook is really good for nothing other than just being a bludgeoning device for the person handling the rope to beat themselves with. I’ve been bruised and bloodied by them more times than I can count. The thimble will protect the rope and give a place to insert a steel d ring shackle or a soft shackle.