Voltmeter Power Source Question

Area for General FSJ related chat.

Topic author
memsiej

Voltmeter Power Source Question

Post by memsiej »

Looking at Tim's widely-circulated diagram for the ammeter bypass, I'm trying to draw one up for an install of a voltmeter. I read through Cody's old thread on his voltmeter install but there was no mention of wiring. I know one post needs to be a ground, and I read that I can grab power from anywhere under the dash that powers on with ignition, but as an electrical rookie I'm hoping for more concrete suggestions/instructions on a power source. Am I overthinking it, and I can just grab from that new red/yellow splice?

Diagram so far:
1984 Grand Wagoneer V8 5.9

tgreese

Re: Voltmeter Power Source Question

Post by tgreese »

You want somewhere that turns off when the key is off. A voltmeter is a tiny drain, but it is a drain and will run down your battery eventually.

Are you installing a voltmeter below the dash, or replacing the ammeter with a voltmeter?

I can show you what I did. I replaced the ammeter with a voltmeter in the cluster.

ClusterBack.jpg
Can't scan it because it's a bound book - best I can do is a macro shot with my camera.

This is from the '82 TSM and shows the back of the instrument cluster. I believe an '84 is the same. You see pin 11 and the trace that's highlighted in pink. That is the pin from the ignition switch that feeds power from the ignition switch to the gauges and the indicator lights.

You also see pin 4 on the flat connector. That is connected to the screws marked GR that ground the top edge of the cluster.

I'm good at soldering. I polished a small spot on the pink trace and soldered a wire to it. The new voltmeter replaces the ammeter which is the two studs coming through the circuit board at M1 and M2. One of these now goes to ground (with a lead under one of the screws? Don't recall exactly) and the other connects to the wire soldered to the pink trace.