89 GW - Frame / Body Condition

Area for General FSJ related chat.

Topic author
Southy324

89 GW - Frame / Body Condition

Post by Southy324 »

Noob here. Been educating for a few months. Hope to find something to invest in mechanically and use as a somewhat daily driver as I pick away at body. Found one for sale that is a good price and low miles. Wanted some insight on the condition of the frame in particular but overall body rust as well. Worth it? Too much work? Going to talk to body guy as well but would love some insight here.

Floors seem like they are solid.

Pics in this google folder: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

SJTD

Re: 89 GW - Frame / Body Condition

Post by SJTD »

Hard to believe the floors are good with all that other rust. I wouldn't touch it. But I live in rust free So Kal.

How much is being asked for it?
Sic friatur crustulum

'84 GW with Nissan SD33T, early Chev NV4500, 300, narrowed Ford reverse 44, narrowed Ford 60, SOA/reversed shackle in fornt, lowered mount/flipped shackle in rear.

Topic author
Southy324

Post by Southy324 »

Unfortunately, I am not rust-free MA. It's listed for $4K. 80K miles. I am guessing it could be had for $3k. Unfortunately, I am not rust-free MA. I have an old timer who fixes GW's and he said he can prob get the dent in the roof and a new windshield on for $1500-$1800, which I am factoring into the cost. It starts and runs but does need an oil pump.

tgreese

Post by tgreese »

Another MA resident - I have a suggestion. Find a better example in the south or west and go get it or have it shipped to MA. Used Jeeps are cheap here because everyone assumes (almost always correctly) that any car more than a few years old is rusty. The road departments use mountains of rock salt on the roads here, and the used cars show it. Plus Jeep was not the greatest in terms of rust prevention.