Engine Builder in NW Oregon Area

Area for General FSJ related chat.

Topic author
Lotsowagoneers

Engine Builder in NW Oregon Area

Post by Lotsowagoneers »

I'm a newbie here, howdy folks! I have several Wagoneers at the moment, and am looking for a good engine builder in the Portland, Oregon area for one of them. I actually live about an hour east of Portland, so if someone happens to randomly know of someone in that area, even better! I recently bought a nice '87 GW with bent pushrods, no one knows why. It's been sitting since '03. I would like a complete rebuild of the motor, and am willing to spend for a job well done. I want to rebuild the original block, as apposed to a replacement crate motor, to maintain numbers matching.
Any suggestions would be appreciated!

dodgerammit

Re: Engine Builder in NW Oregon Area

Post by dodgerammit »

Numbers matching on these things are pretty much null and void. if it came with a 360, and has a 360, you're as good as any other original one out there. Might check on theamcforum.com about a builder. There is a guy that is really good that is on there. Will probably have to ship, but he comes highly recommended.
84 Grand Waggy-Radio Flyer (Garnet Red/3M Ebony Metallic woodgrain, with honey interior) AMC 360 :cry: 2004 4.8LS/Advance Adapter/727/242 D44/AMC20 Serehill tailgate and headlight harnesses :fsj: Ongoing thread-viewtopic.php?t=11897

92 Wrangler Islander 4.0/32RH/231 D30/D35 RHD

Topic author
Lotsowagoneers

Post by Lotsowagoneers »

I’m surprised to hear your comment that the numbers matching doesn’t matter, even though I have noticed that people don’t seem to ever mention it with these. Why is that? I could see that maybe it doesn’t matter to folks right now, but what about in another 30 years? In either case, this is likely to be a keeper for me, and it is important to me, so gonna try to keep the original. Thanks for the info though.

ShagWagon

Post by ShagWagon »