Parking Lot Rag Joint Replacement

Post here to share your FSJ related stories!

Topic author
3upadventures

Parking Lot Rag Joint Replacement

Post by 3upadventures »

Things I DO NOT recommend:

Being 300 miles from home, hearing a clunk in a parking lot, and then realizing that your steering box bolts sheered and took the rag joint with them.

The good news is that it wasn't the previous night on I-15 and that I had my tools with me.

The bad news is that I'm not a mechanic and it took me 6 hours in a Wells Fargo parking lot but damn it, I fixed it. All by myself.

Full story here: 3Up Adventures: Replacing Rag Joint
1998 Cherokee "Ruth"
1977 Cherokee "Francis" [Sold]

[url=http://3upadventures.com!]3UpAdventures.com[/url]: Outdoor adventure, travel, simple living, and a big ol' jeep.

Herk

Re: Parking Lot Rag Joint Replacement

Post by Herk »

For future reference, it's easier to just replace the assembly http://shop.advanceautoparts.com/p/lare ... 18340126-P

Topic author
3upadventures

Post by 3upadventures »

Herk wrote:For future reference, it's easier to just replace the assembly http://shop.advanceautoparts.com/p/lare ... 18340126-P
Yup, I found that in my research but there weren't any in stock at the 3 auto parts stores within 2 miles of me. And since I was on foot...that's what I did. ;)
1998 Cherokee "Ruth"

[url=http://3upadventures.com!]3UpAdventures.com[/url]: Outdoor adventure, travel, simple living, and a big ol' jeep.

Tatsadasayago

Post by Tatsadasayago »

Way to go on the 'Field Expedient Repair'.
I've found that when one is immobile due to a mechanical failure, the ingenuity factor goes up proportionally to the distance from home.
Your steering box was probably loose for a long time, maybe even years and this is likely why you didn't notice the extra play. I wager you now notice an improvement in your steering. :)

Well done!
1977 Cherokee Chief - The Blair Jeep Project III
A collection of parts flying in close formation

lkmarsh