My new Chief!

Show off your FSJ photos and videos!

Topic author
GirlChief

My new Chief!

Post by GirlChief »

I was looking for a Wagoneer but my Dad came across this Chief and I couldn’t pass her up. Super straight body, original paint job and she looks amazing. Interior is in really nice condition as well. I’m just going to drive her for a while & then decide what to do next. Probably convert her to FI but the carb seems pretty good. I have a box of original parts & all docs for everything ever done to her, as well as original sales paperwork. The only rust is a tiny bit above the side rear window (flecks). Any tips on how to make her the BEST daily driver appreciated. I’m not a mechanic but I have two in the family & they both own 99’ Cherokee XJ’s so they can do the work but haven’t worked on anything this old (yet). Also, where can I get decent seat covers so I can keep these pristine? Thanks all!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Stuka
Site Admin

Re: My new Chief!

Post by Stuka »

Welcome to the forum, looks really nice.

As for being the best daily driver, outside of a complete engine swap, just keep it running well. Check the regular tune up items, etc.

As for seat covers, you will have to dig around. Those seats looks really nice. If they are leather, should be no reason to cover them if you keep them from drying out. Thats when they tend to crack. The same goes for vinyl, you just use a different product.
2017 JKU Rubicon
Pevious Jeeps: 1981 J10, 1975 Cherokee, 2008 JK, 2005 KJ, 1989 XJ

will e

Post by will e »

Howdy from Phoenix! Nice looking rig. Someone's done a lot of work to it. Nice.
81 Waggy 'WILL E' Retired