1980 Wagoneer - first Jeep!

Area to show off your Custom Build threads.

Topic author
KollynnBlackpaw

1980 Wagoneer - first Jeep!

Post by KollynnBlackpaw »

Howdy, y'all!
As you may have read above - I'm entirely new to Jeeps (kinda). I work on Aircooled VWs typically, but wanted a hauler that was "old-ish" and "at least somewhat-cool" as I described it to friends when I was looking around. You know, a C10, or a Suburban, maybe a Blazer - then I spotted it on Facebook; a wonderful, brick red 1980 Wagoneer, runs drives stops, 2 owner car. Picked it up for a pretty decent price and drove it home. Well, he's got some bad electrical issues when it comes to... a lot. Mostly the dash and the brake lights right now, which oddly worked when I drove it home, and now don't. I also had the drive gear for the front left hub just "pling!" and pop out with the hubcap the other day, very fun! I have no experience with 4wds by the way - again, aircooled VWs!!! Rear engine, rear wheel drive, and under 60 MPH. :P

So I lied a little - technically "my" first Jeep is a '50 CJ3A I've got sitting next to the house - but that's my Grandmas that I'm restoring for her, and is a lot more simple!

Anyways - I was hoping someone has a tale of finding their build sheet (if these had them) inside the vehicle's headliner/door panels/etc, or if there's a resource for getting one. Mine seems to have a bunch of different options, and if it was an '81 I had thought for a moment it was a Brougham.

"The Brick", here, has thin side wood grain, wood grain door panels and dash, power seats, power steering, quadra-trac full time 4wd, power front discs, power rear window, HOT heater (great for Oregon!!!), not sure about A/C haven't checked, had power mirrors by the looks, fog lights, and probably more that I'm missing entirely. I don't know what was all "stock" and what was all optional. Oh yeah, did I mention at all that I have no experience with 4wd vehicles yet? :D
Wagoneer.jpg