Tires, wheels, and maybe even brakes?

Modified FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
mineral co

Tires, wheels, and maybe even brakes?

Post by mineral co »

So, I had the GW out for it's first adventure today. It was tons o' fun! I need to do this more often.

The most immediate problem now is the old, lousy street tires. I really, really like the American Eagle and Procomp 8 hole allow wheels and expect to allow myself to buy them.

But then it crossed my mind that I would no longer be limited to 15" tires. I can get any size!

But (normal) flotation tires only come in 15" wheel sizes.

But you can't get a decent E rated truck tire in a 15" size any more.

This is how my day goes, all the time. Everything is a frikkin' compromise.

I had originally settled on either BFG A/T TA KO 31x10.5r15 (generally excellent reviews, and a good looking tire) or the Michelin 31x10.5r15 (I really like Michelins, but I have never used this type of tire before). Both companies also offer a 265/75r16 that is about the same size as the 31 (slightly taller), and is an E rated tire.

Now, I freely admit that my off-roading experience is rather limited. And that means that there are probably considerations that I know nothing of. I want to use this truck for on-road and off-road purposes, though I would be willing to lean more towards the off-road needs as I don't commute every day. Are there reasons beyond the obvious why I would want an imperial flotation tire (15") over a comparably sized (with higher load rating) 16" metric tire?

The other consideration is that there are (I think) larger rotors and calipers available when moving up to a 16" wheel, though that probably shouldn't be a primary consideration at this point. (Even more so with, dare I say it? A 17" wheel?)

Thanks for all offered insight on this. I have not been able to reconcile this in my head, and would sure appreciate some assistance.

Chris
'84 GW, returning to service.