Suggestions - body removal for prep and paint

Stock FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
Laredo Matt

Suggestions - body removal for prep and paint

Post by Laredo Matt »

I think I'm going to go ahead and paint the Laredo and would prefer to lift the body of the frame vs. paint on frame.

I've never done it before (take the body off or paint a car) and am working from a home garage. Any suggestions on the best way to do this?

I've read Strode's thread (more than one) on his 82' Laredo. He built a body dolly out of wood.

https://www.fsjnetwork.com/forum/viewto ... 9&start=20

I could perhaps do the same but getting the body lifted up and off is going to be a challenge. I don't have a motor lift like that. Aside from buying one, does anyone have another suggestion to lift the body?

thanks, matt
Matt
83 Cherokee Laredo WT
L8T 6.6L, 6L90
GEN III LS Swap (LM7 block)
4L60E

Hobart

Re: Suggestions - body removal for prep and paint

Post by Hobart »