New electric fuel pump not working 90 GW

Stock FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
InspectorB

New electric fuel pump not working 90 GW

Post by InspectorB »

Hi all!

I removed the mechanical fuel pump and installed a Holley red pump and wasn’t able get the wagon to start. It cranks great but don’t think the pump is running. I’m not that experienced with car stuff so I’m sure I did something wrong. Any advice would be much appreciated.

I used a painless wiring harness but ended up installing a oil pressure safety switch and wired it based on the Holley diagram below.

Pump ground wire screwed to frame near pump
Pump hot wire ran to relay (as described in painless diagram)
Small yellow wire from relay (for ignition in painless diagram) ran to P on safety switch
Wire ran from S on safety switch to starter solenoid
Wire ran from I on safety switch to orange electric choke wire
Ground from relay ran to other ground wires near battery
Battery wire from relay ran to 30amp fuse then to battery

Cheers,
B

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

will e

Re: New electric fuel pump not working 90 GW

Post by will e »

I think the way you have it wired up it 'should' work. Do you have a multi-meter or voltage tester?

I think the first thing to try is to make sure the relay and pump are working by manually bypassing the safety switch. This can be done by removing the P wire from the safety switch and connecting it directly to power from the battery (if it will reach or with a jumper). If the relay and pump are good and wired correctly the pump should turn on. You will be able to hear it run. If it doesn't run then you can further bypass the relay and attach the pump directly to the battery. This is only for a test purpose. You will hear the pump running. Don't leave it connected in either of the configurations for very long, just a few seconds, if you hear the pump running.

If you find the relay and pump to be working then you will want to verify the wiring for the safety switch.