Painting patina.

Modified FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
uncletiffy

Painting patina.

Post by uncletiffy »

After I get my gear work done, my suspension installed, my windows working, the interior replaced and the AC fixed, I plan on painting my Cherokee. :cry:

I watch lots of car resto/mod shows and every now and then you see one that looks like they have clear coated paint over the rust (patina).

How difficult is this?
My car has rust but its only surface rust (except for the rear fender flares) and I think it looks great, shows her age. But I don't want it to rust any more.

What are your thoughts?
1979 Jeep Cherokee Chief, 360V8, auto ,QT, rust.
1995 Jeep YJ, 2.5 4 cyl. Sold, yay.
1998 Land Rover Defender 90, 2.5 TDI.

az chip

Re: Painting patina.

Post by az chip »

Kind of a fad to me. Good solid paint, especially in a salty air environment seems better. But I was a US Navy aircraft mechanic and salt water was our worst enemy.
'81 Cherokee Chief 81 WT Chief/MSD 6/Holley Sniper/ Rusty 4" Spring lift/ Bulltear oil adapter/K&P Engineering Oil Filter/ NP 208/ Serehill Light Harness/KC LED Headlights/ Evil Twin Fab Roof Rack and sliders/ Ross mirror mounts.

Topic author
uncletiffy

Post by uncletiffy »

I painted my Defender with boat paint,(Awlgrip) has held up really well. Shut the external corrosion off and is really resistant to bush scratching, its almost like a plastic coating.

rocklaurence
Vendor

Post by rocklaurence »

I painted my J10 to look like Patina. I got the idea front a couple shows on PowerNation TV--Trucks. I wanted to stop the rust but keep the old truck look. It only cost me $150 in materials and a little time:

tgreese

Post by tgreese »

uncletiffy wrote:...
What are your thoughts?
Painting over red rust with clear coat is sure to fail within a short time. .