Timing cover installation - in-car. Tips?

Stock FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
AtlantaDan

Timing cover installation - in-car. Tips?

Post by AtlantaDan »

My old timing cover is leaking at the plug on top of the oil pump housing, so I bought a new kit from Bulltear. Also going to install a DUI distributor and a new cam-gear at the same time. For the lower part of the cover, I assume the oil pan needs to be dropped a bit. What's the best way to seal it back up? Do I also need to install a new pan-gasket or can I let it ride?

I'm a complete newbie to AMC 360's, so learning a lot as I go and this forum's assistance has been invaluable.
1989 Grand Wagoneer

tgreese

Re: Timing cover installation - in-car. Tips?

Post by tgreese »

The procedure is covered in the TSM. If there are extra steps involved that a dealership technician would need to know about, they will list them there. Won't teach you to work on cars though. Page 9-156. Free to read and download at the Tom Collins site. https://oljeep.com/

TSM.png

No need to drop the oil pan. If you look at the picture of the gasket set for timing cover you will see the parts of the oil pan seal you need to replace. The TSM covers this. https://www.rockauto.com/info/6/SFL_TCS ... 04_TOP.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tim Reese
Maine beekeeper's truck: '77 J10 LWB, 258/T15/D20/3.54 bone stock, low options (delete radio), PS/PDB, hubcaps.
Browless and proud: '82 J20 360/T18/NP208/3.73, Destination A/Ts, 7600 GVWR
Copper Polly: '75 CJ-6, 304/T15, PS, BFG KM2s, soft top
GTI without the badges: '95 VW Golf Sport 2000cc 2D
Dual Everything: '15 Chryco Jeep Cherokee KL Trailhawk, ECO Green
Blockchain the vote.

Topic author
AtlantaDan

Post by AtlantaDan »

Thanks, Tim. I have the FSM, but as with any job, hearing from someone that's done the work is always beneficial before starting something that you are unfamiliar with. I appreciate your input.