Can I do a gear change on my CJ?

Area for General NON-Jeep related chat. Topics are typically not moderated, but must fall within the Use Guidelines.

Topic author
jpcoutts

Can I do a gear change on my CJ?

Post by jpcoutts »

I bought a non-op CJ5 a while back and got it running in no time. That's the good news, the bad news is the PO swapped the rear axle and the gearing in the front and rear axles don't match. I've been looking for an axle with the correct gear or a set with matching gears without luck. I am tempted to do an R & P swap myself but I've never done it before. Is that something anybody here has ever tried?

tgreese

Re: Can I do a gear change on my CJ?

Post by tgreese »

Never set up an axle myself, but I do know the years and ratios and what will work in place of the front or rear you have now.

Details please. What year CJ? Which gears?

Would try to do the gears myself, though I understand the procedure is complicated, and there is a lot of trial and error involved. You might read the TSM and look at what's involved. It will include a step-by-step and describe the tools you'd need.
Tim Reese
Maine beekeeper's truck: '77 J10 LWB, 258/T15/D20/3.54 bone stock, low options (delete radio), PS/PDB, hubcaps.
Browless and proud: '82 J20 360/T18/NP208/3.73, Destination A/Ts, 7600 GVWR
Copper Polly: '75 CJ-6, 304/T15, PS, BFG KM2s, soft top
GTI without the badges: '95 VW Golf Sport 2000cc 2D
Dual Everything: '15 Chryco Jeep Cherokee KL Trailhawk, ECO Green
Blockchain the vote.

SJTD

Post by SJTD »

It takes some tools to do it properly. Obviously you need a press. And a case spreader though a lot of guys don't use it. Then you need a jig to initially set the pinion depth and a dial gauge to set the backlash. I suppose you could do it all trial and error checking the contact pattern with bluing then resetting the pinion depth based on that but it would be a tedious process.