Legal advice

Area for General NON-Jeep related chat. Topics are typically not moderated, but must fall within the Use Guidelines.

Topic author
Shagoneer

Legal advice

Post by Shagoneer »

Is anyone here a lawyer or have experience with business law?
I had to sign a non competition agreement when I started at me job and I’m wondering how far reaching it is.
For example we build solar powered attic fans and lights. Would it violate the agreement to make solar powered car accessories?

Second example we make and sell multilayer insulation. Would it violate the non competition agreement to start an insulation testing company? (We recently sent off a sample of a new product for test and it was $20,000 for them to tell us the r value and that it doesn’t catch fire)

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
In the market for a new FSJ

SJTD

Re: Legal advice

Post by SJTD »

I'm not a Lawyer but I'll offer my two cents.

1 - Probably

2 - I think you aren't paying for the testing, you're paying for the Certifications the testing company has which weren't cheap to get.

You'd have to provide a copy of the agreement to anyone who would be able to give you a legitimate interpretation. Along with some money.
Sic friatur crustulum

'84 GW with Nissan SD33T, early Chev NV4500, 300, narrowed Ford reverse 44, narrowed Ford 60, SOA/reversed shackle in fornt, lowered mount/flipped shackle in rear.

Stuka
Site Admin

Post by Stuka »

Non-compete agreements are completely void here in California (they were being abused by companies). But in many states are enforceable depending on how far reaching they are.

And as somebody that has made a career in testing, that $20k is covering liability as well as certs. Not to mention the equipment costs.
2017 JKU Rubicon
Pevious Jeeps: 1981 J10, 1975 Cherokee, 2008 JK, 2005 KJ, 1989 XJ

Dr. Marneaus

Post by Dr. Marneaus »