New to welding

This is a place to share about tools and workspaces

Topic author
FirefighterIV

New to welding

Post by FirefighterIV »

So I am sure that this dead horse has been beat enough but being new to the welding and fab world I wanted to get the advice of some of the seasoned vets on this forum. I am looking to buy a welder for general fab work... I am just learning the skill, and this will be my first welder to teach myself on. I don't want to buy a piece of junk that I will destroy in a week,or won't let me grow with the skill. I am looking at the Hobart welders, I believe they are made in the USA and I'm willing to spend a bit more for that. I don't have a 220 line in my shop, so a 110 is where I am. I don't want to spend 1000, I'm spending enough on my j truck, so I have a budget. Unfortunately I don't know a lot of people who weld, so I don't have anyone to really ask the opinion of. So once again I'm sorry for repeating what so many people have already asked, but with a Hobart 140-160 what can I reasonably expect to weld? And are they fairly beginner friendly? I appreciate your help!
Keep Calm & Chive on!

85 J10-20...the moneypit

"true happiness is a belt fed weapon... and an ammo factory"

XJChad

Re: New to welding

Post by XJChad »

I have only been welding a short time, 2-3yrs. I originally borrowed a friends Hobart 140 to learn with. It was very easy to use and will weld up to 1/4" pretty easily.
When I bought my own I went with the same one, Hobart 140 qnd have loved it. I've welded everything from the sheetmetal on my XJ's hood to the 1/4" plate for my Waggys motor mounts and it does great. The only thing is with heavy steel is the duty cycle is very short. You have to run shorter beads then let the machine catch its breath before you start again. Thats the only holdback to the smaller machines. But for someone just learning and using it for a hobby and projects its great, I have no complaints.