1972 Wagoneer Diesel advice needed

For everything related to converting and up keeping diesel engines in an FSJ

Topic author
eskinny

1972 Wagoneer Diesel advice needed

Post by eskinny »

Hello All,

I am new to this forum and am still in the process of reading through all of the info, so please bear with me if I ask anything redundant. I have a 1972 Wagoneer that I bought in 1999 in a salvage yard in Lubbock for $300.00. 17 years, 4 complete rebuilds and six figures later I am finally considering a diesel conversion. My fabricator initially suggested the Duramax motor with the Allison transmission, but then I started hearing about the 4bt and 6bt. I am a noob as far as these conversions go, I am hoping to find a reputable shop in South Texas to do the work and would like to end up with a daily driver / rough country hunting ready jeep. I am interested in the opinions of the members here that are familiar with the various diesel conversions. Recently I replaced the axles with Dana 44 6 lug heavy duty axles and new 373 gears, disc brakes all the way around and lockers. We also went with 20 inch wheels and 35 inch tires. The 360 has been rebuilt (a few times) and is not quite putting out the power I would like. I would appreciate any opinions and experiences ya'll might be able to share.

thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

carnuck

Re: 1972 Wagoneer Diesel advice needed

Post by carnuck »

3.73 isn't a power maker with 35" tires. It changes the factory ratio to 3.08 equivalent.
Check my parts for sale near Seattle

eggman918

Post by eggman918 »