Loo king into diesel swap

For everything related to converting and up keeping diesel engines in an FSJ

Topic author
Bigpete1

Loo king into diesel swap

Post by Bigpete1 »

:fsj: Hello everyone new to the whole forum and FSJ world sorry if it's a repeated post!!. I bought my first 73' fsj. 4 months ago and looking into doing a swap I've seen alot of people who are going the 4bt/6bt route I live in SoCal and anything older than 75' is smog exempt so that is no issue for me . I have the OG 360 motor and turbo 400 trans it is currently my daily driver so gas is killing me expected of course. So my question(s) are can I swap either 4bt/6bt with adapter over to my tranny and have it work or is it recommend to swap motor,transfer, trans,and axles out to be able to handle the power. Building it up to remain my daily driver and also trail rig mud :fsj: rock whatever really. Thanks in advance for your time and wisdom !!! Also takes me awhile to respond I drive for a living and work 10-12hrs a day. But that's life

Stuka
Site Admin

Re: Loo king into diesel swap

Post by Stuka »

First, welcome!

Second, if its your daily driver, can you actually go without driving it for the time that the build takes?

As for which engine, the 6BT requires extensive firewall modifications and an axle swap, as your D30 would in no way support an 1100lb engine. Even the D44 used in later years is not up to it.

A 4BT is lighter, but still heavy, so still really need a beefier axle. And I do not know of an adapter that will go to an AMC pattern. You would need to look into using a different trans housing at least (like GM TH400 housing using your guts or the like).

Another option is to go with a GM 6.2/6.5L diesel.

Then you just need to weigh is doing a rather expensive swap worth what you will save in fuel.
2017 JKU Rubicon
Pevious Jeeps: 1981 J10, 1975 Cherokee, 2008 JK, 2005 KJ, 1989 XJ

Pablo

Post by Pablo »