How/Where did you mount your ECM?

For everything related to using Fuel Injection in an FSJ.
Blake
Moderator
Posts: 3068
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 10:26 am
Location: Off the grid on Storm Mountain Colorado
Contact:

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby Blake » Fri Oct 07, 2016 9:14 am

Blake wrote:here is mine

Image


haha let it be known that I STILL don't have the cover on my 7747. It's gotten a little more dust/mud/crap in there since this pic was taken, but works fine. It's mostly a trailer queen now, so I don't really care. Although I sometimes kinda wish I hadn't given my spare 7747 to Gabe, but oh well.

:fsj:

User avatar
Nikkormat
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 11:45 pm
Location: Missoula Montana

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby Nikkormat » Wed Oct 12, 2016 10:36 pm

Blake wrote:
Blake wrote:here is mine

Image


haha let it be known that I STILL don't have the cover on my 7747. It's gotten a little more dust/mud/crap in there since this pic was taken, but works fine. It's mostly a trailer queen now, so I don't really care. Although I sometimes kinda wish I hadn't given my spare 7747 to Gabe, but oh well.

:fsj:


I'm going to go to a carburetor on the 72, and Howell on the 91 soon so I'll give it back. I'm going to keep one as a spare for the Howell setup though. Could you help me copy the Howell chip when the time comes?
Now this ol' Jeep needs a coat a' paint
But she makes up for what I ain't

Blake
Moderator
Posts: 3068
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 10:26 am
Location: Off the grid on Storm Mountain Colorado
Contact:

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby Blake » Thu Oct 13, 2016 8:59 am

your going with a carb? WTF

don't ever speak to me again!!!!










































ya sure man, I will help ya out :fsj:

User avatar
Nikkormat
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 11:45 pm
Location: Missoula Montana

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby Nikkormat » Thu Oct 13, 2016 12:53 pm

Blake wrote:your going with a carb? WTF

don't ever speak to me again!!!!


Carb, and points! This truck is going to be more of a toy, not a serious wheeling rig. The winch hangs like two feet off of the front so it can't do much.
Now this ol' Jeep needs a coat a' paint
But she makes up for what I ain't

Blake
Moderator
Posts: 3068
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 10:26 am
Location: Off the grid on Storm Mountain Colorado
Contact:

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby Blake » Thu Oct 13, 2016 1:52 pm

It definitely won't be able to do much while running a carb!

csuengr
Posts: 1207
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:24 am
Location: Arvada/Loveland, CO
Contact:

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby csuengr » Thu Oct 13, 2016 5:30 pm

I did Carnage BV twice with a carb, without issues.
This is my signature

Blake
Moderator
Posts: 3068
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 10:26 am
Location: Off the grid on Storm Mountain Colorado
Contact:

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby Blake » Thu Oct 13, 2016 7:15 pm

I did ultimate Adventure with a carb.

Still doesn't make it right! :mrgreen:

User avatar
MadMax78
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:40 pm
Location: Little Rock, AR

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby MadMax78 » Thu Nov 10, 2016 2:22 am

REDONE wrote:
racerx12003r1 wrote:I mounted mine on the drivers side fender well on the flat spot and mounted my relays and fuse holder right behind it.

I thought about mounting in the engine compartment, but then I'd have to move my rocky Balboa horn and also, I've seen my engine compartment get douched in water and mud.


Now that can be read more than one way! LOL! Sorry, couldn't resist. :shock:
MadMax78

78 Cherokee S, Wide Track, 360, TH400, Quadra Trac, TAD's SOA, 35" BFG KM2, Edelbrock Carb & Intake, MSD Coil & Ignition

User avatar
tedlovesjeeps71
Posts: 2136
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 4:39 pm

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby tedlovesjeeps71 » Thu Nov 10, 2016 9:58 am

Why not put the brain in some sort of small box like a pelican case? Mount it wherever the wiring allows then?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
tedlovesjeeps71
Posts: 2136
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 4:39 pm

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby tedlovesjeeps71 » Thu May 25, 2017 7:27 pm

Does anyone have a good pic of where they routed the harness to mount the ECM inside? Some say there is an extra hole behind the AC? I don't recall seeing one when I had my unit out and don't see one from the engine side other than where the two AC lines run. I wonder if using the block off plate the clutch would us will let the connectors pass through?
And what do you guys use for key on power?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
tedlovesjeeps71
Posts: 2136
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 4:39 pm

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby tedlovesjeeps71 » Fri May 26, 2017 9:23 pm

Anybody? Beuler...Beuler??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

WT91
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:00 am

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby WT91 » Tue May 30, 2017 1:34 pm

My harness comes through where the stock NP229 vacuum shifter lines would come through, I drilled the hole out slightly larger so the harness would fit.

For key on power I used the stock coil yellow wire, which provides key on 12v stock. That triggers a bank of relays for the ECM/Fuel Pump/etc.
His:
1990 Grand Wagoneer (Toy)
440 9.5:1, XE250H Cam, Hedman Shorty Headers, '7427 TBI
727/208/D44 4.10 Locked F&R, SOA/SF, 33's, 12k Winch, Custom Bumpers F&R, OBA


1994 Ford F350 Crew Cab Dually
7.3 Powerstroke/ZF5 5 Speed/2WD 4.10 LS. Daily driver/toy hauler.

Hers:
2009 Dodge Charger 3.5L v6

User avatar
Nikkormat
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 11:45 pm
Location: Missoula Montana

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby Nikkormat » Tue May 30, 2017 1:42 pm

Ted, sorry I missed this. The extra plate is lower on the firewall. Probably won't be able to see it from above. I have observed it Wyatt's 91 it should be there on yours too. As for the key on power if your TBI harness handles coil power I'd use the old coil wire. Take it out of the harness and remove the length of resistor wire.
Now this ol' Jeep needs a coat a' paint
But she makes up for what I ain't

User avatar
tedlovesjeeps71
Posts: 2136
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 4:39 pm

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby tedlovesjeeps71 » Tue May 30, 2017 1:53 pm

Nikkormat wrote:Ted, sorry I missed this. The extra plate is lower on the firewall. Probably won't be able to see it from above. I have observed it Wyatt's 91 it should be there on yours too. As for the key on power if your TBI harness handles coil power I'd use the old coil wire. Take it out of the harness and remove the length of resistor wire.


Thanks guys. So the extra plate is on the passenger side behind/under the HVAC? Or are you referring to the clutch plate on the driver's side?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
Nikkormat
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 11:45 pm
Location: Missoula Montana

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby Nikkormat » Tue May 30, 2017 4:03 pm

Passenger side, should be under ac.
Now this ol' Jeep needs a coat a' paint
But she makes up for what I ain't

User avatar
tedlovesjeeps71
Posts: 2136
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 4:39 pm

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby tedlovesjeeps71 » Tue May 30, 2017 7:19 pm

Ok. I'll try and take a closer peep this week.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
babywag
Posts: 812
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Land of Fruit Loops & Coconuts

Re: How/Where did you mount your ECM?

Postby babywag » Fri Jun 02, 2017 9:58 am

I just drilled a hole...I've never seen an extra one in this area?
Image
-Tony
'88 GW (aka Babywag) '90 GW (aka JunkBucket) both fuel injected.


Return to “FSJ Fuel Injection Tech”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mlaver and 1 guest