78 Chief WT Driver Build

Area to show off your Custom Build threads.

Topic author
1979bettywhite

78 Chief WT Driver Build

Post by 1979bettywhite »

This won't be a complete restoration of my 78 cherokee chief, but more of a driver build. Here is what I am starting with:

1978 Cherokee Chief
360 out of a 90 Grand Wagoneer. Estimated 90k on the engine
TH400/Quadratrac
Dana 44s with 3.54 gearing
Everything pretty much stock

Plans are as follows:
Redo interior
Swap out factory a/c for aftermarket
4" lift and 33s (either BDS or BJ's since they are changing spring suppliers)
Maybe some paint down the road but it's in pretty solid shape.

I am still a novice when it comes to working on cars. So I may need some schooling here and there. Although I also have a 79 CJ5 that I have basically gotten to where I want it. Done all the work myself. Was bone stock when I got it. Worked on the 258 a decent amount to get it running well, plenty of minors repairs and improvements. And a 2.5" BDS lift installed.

Looking forward to working on the chief and learning a ton along the way!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by 1979bettywhite on Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Topic author
1979bettywhite

78 Chief WT Driver Build

Post by 1979bettywhite »

First job is somewhat for me, but more for the GF. The interior was, well, a bit rough. Carpet tearing away, stained, stinky etc. Factory seats were a little grimy. Drivers seat was torn and repaired with tape etc. Not to mention there is just not much adjustment and support. So out it all comes.

But first, check out these goodies I got with the chief:

Now on to the build:

Goodies that I did not really want or need from the previous owner - a Philips head screwdriver, two video game tokens and a dime. But I did find a sporting goods reciept from 1981. I bet that was the original owner's: