1981 Cherokee for $285, sorta

Area to show off your Custom Build threads.

Topic author
o0elvis0o

1981 Cherokee for $285, sorta

Post by o0elvis0o »

I am brand new to the Jeep ownership world but have always been a proud fan. A few days ago I had the esteemed pleasure of seeing an old Jeep being hauled down my driveway. I was grinning ear to ear.

My initiation began with an unloved 2001 Ford Taurus. I had bought the car from a college kid who was returning home and didn't want to take it with him. We negotiated a little but I lost interest until he called again one night and said he was out of time and leaving the next morning. He said I could have the Taurus for $200. I grabbed a friend and was on my way.

The Taurus had an overheating problem but we were able to drive it home only having to stop once to let it cool down during the two hour ride. The bottle of stop leak was helping.

I drove the car for awhile and decided to sell it. Our oldest son needed a way to school and work so I sold it to him for what I had in it, $425. He blew up the motor shortly there after and it sat in his yard. He asked me to come get it and I told him I didn't want it but he could call the junkyard and get $100 for it. He didn't want to fool with it and after a few weeks I dragged it back home. Now what am I gonna do with it...

Months passed and I was looking through Craigslist when I saw an ad for a Jeep Cherokee. Unknown year, unknown condition, $600. I called the guy and asked him if he would trade me the Jeep for my Taurus with a blown engine. He laughed and said no. I laughed too and told him it never hurts to ask.

Then he called back and said he would trade me for $400 boot. I declined. He called again. "Give me $200. I'll even bring the Jeep to you and pick up the Taurus." Deal