Chrysler 318 into a 87 wagoneer

Modified FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
Beh woody

Chrysler 318 into a 87 wagoneer

Post by Beh woody »

Hey guys, newbie here.
I’m refurbishing a grand wagoneer that has a blown AMC 360. Trying to get a rebuilt or replacement amc anything seems like pulling teeth. I’ve considered all kinds of options, Chevy swap, dump the money into the amc I have, etc.
I do happen to have access to a wrecked 95 Grand Cherokee with a good 5.2 that is free. My question, has anyone attempted to adapt one of these to the amc patterned TF727? Or, could I get a Mopar patterned TF727 and simply bolt that behind it (assuming that would mate to my t-case). Thoughts anyone?

BCRAWLER

Re: Chrysler 318 into a 87 wagoneer

Post by BCRAWLER »

I would be tempted to bypass this idea. Had an 93 Grand and the engine management system has a big issue. on the 93 the voltage regulator is part of the main computer. Jump start somebody wrong and new computer. If you could find a new different alternator and a set up to run engine management chores you can stand a chance.Somebody on here may have knowledge if 95 same. Your best bet is 5.3. Check on here to see what is involved. That would be the way I would go depending on what is up with the 360.
1980 Cherokee,360/727/208, propane powered,unknown lift,31' Adventuro's on Chevy rims,Warn winch
1980 J10,360/standard/208, stepside
1970 GMC 4X4 Pickup, 78 frame, 84 350, Turbo 350/205, patina galore
1986 Blazer K5, 350/205/465 trans
1990 Cherokee XJ, about to scrap for FSJ parts, gone to parts graveyard in sky

Herk

Post by Herk »

You would use the Mopar transmission case with the Jeep rear adapter and possibly output shaft (or just use the GC transfer case). The pre-OBD2 Mopar JTEC engine management system isn't super engine swap friendly. There's ways around that. Don't forget that there was a 5.9 version of that 5.2, and they should both be cheap and plentiful.

Topic author
Beh woody

Post by Beh woody »