Carpet Installation Question

Stock FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
Santeh

Carpet Installation Question

Post by Santeh »

Hello all,

I have some questions that most likely have apparent answers, yet at risk of being exposed as a complete newbie (I am!) I thought I might ask so that I do not make a huge mistake. I am getting ready to buy a carpet replacement kit for my 1978 Jeep Cherokee S yet I am unsure how to properly install the material. Specifically, the only metal I know of that would hold any carpet down is on the floor by the doors and the thin metal strips for the cargo area/door. How, then, is the carpet held down in the passenger area? Do the seats hold the carpet in place? I am planning on getting the Essex with mass backing from BJ's Off Road (please see: http://www.bjsoffroad.com/Carpet-Kit-Pa ... p_899.html), thus does the mass backing help hold the carpet down? If not, what replacement metal would I need to purchase in order to install the carpet?

Thank you everyone!
1978 Jeep Cherokee S; 5.9L/360 V8 automatic/FiTech fuel injection and Davis Unified Distributor systems.

440sixpack

Re: Carpet Installation Question

Post by 440sixpack »

It's just held down by whatever bolts through it and the sill plates. you can glue it down if needed in problem areas.

Be warned ACC is about the only carpet made for any AMC product and it's just short of crap. maybe more like crap. something like fitting socks on a chicken, it just doesn't fit. I've used other brands and the fit is SOOO much better. but this is what we have.

Take your time and check 5 times before you make a cut. you should get it good enough you can live with it.

SJTD

Post by SJTD »

In my '84 the carpet over the rear wheels was nailed in place with little tacks.

I guess the factory didn't want to use tack strips. :roll:
Sic friatur crustulum