New J10 - Blown motor. Need advice

Stock FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
bruegge

New J10 - Blown motor. Need advice

Post by bruegge »

Hi All,
Jeep newbie here, love the site. Thanks in advance for your time and help. Here goes...
My son and I have been watching the show Raodkill, and inspired by said show, I made a 90 mile trip to buy a 1974 J10 with a 401/TH400/Quadra-trac and little rust in Colorado terms. The truck was bought at an auction by a friend of mine, it was abandoned and sat for ~ 4 years. He could get it to start, but not much more.
I rode my motorcycle to Steamboat and spent the day working through a list that we put together in hopes of driving the jeep back 90 miles, bike in the bed. We changed plugs, wires and cap, changed the oil and filter, drained the gas, worked out a few wiring glitches and added copious amounts of MMO to both oil and gas. We noticed some of the plugs were bad, and decent compression in most cylinders, but three were low at 30, 60, 60. Oil pressure was non existent on the gauge, but didn't notice lifter noise, hoped is was a bad gauge or sender. We prayed an act of god would help the compression.
Around 10:30 at night I fired up the truck and started to drive home. While it was a long, slow trip, there were times I would have swore the engine was running stronger and I was sure the MMO was freeing up stuck rings and cleaning carb jets to like new. At 1:30 am, 10 miles from home it started to run poorly again, I was blaming a low gas tank (thinking I sucked some crap in the tank up) and begging the jeep fairies that I wouldn't have to wake up my wife to get a ride the rest of the way home.
In the end I made it home, went to bed late, but got up early, excited to work on the truck.