New to lift kits. What do I need in parts for all the varying lift sizes? (J10/J20)

Stock FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
AKJ10HYBRID

New to lift kits. What do I need in parts for all the varying lift sizes? (J10/J20)

Post by AKJ10HYBRID »

So im relatively new to the FSJ community in terms offroading tech and expertise and had some questions. Ive seen threads on what my lifted 1974 J10 would look like with varying lifts and tire sizes. What i havent seen yet is a thread where fellow jeep enthusiasts post all the parts and little geometry needed to make it work. To summarize it would help in my decision from fellow jeep J-Truck owners if you guys told me what all is needed to lift my J10. Note: Its a 1974 J10 with 1984 J20 powertrain and drivetrain for now. I have the stock 74 leaf springs for a softer ride with j20 axles. Also im starting another thread soon on my questions about people who've used the CDI modules to replace the Duraspark system. :-bd :-bd Thanks again guys

KJ Ryu

Re: New to lift kits. What do I need in parts for all the varying lift sizes? (J10/J20)

Post by KJ Ryu »

Correct springs, first of all. Is your's a post mount setup? I can't remember when they changed. Beyond that, nothing is needed for 2" lift, other than new u-bolts. Drop pitman arm, extended brake lines and possibly caster shims are going to be needed for anything taller.
Ron

2005 KJ, Hit-n-Run, 2am 6-17-2012, Totaled. :mad:
1977 SJ J10, 4v360, T18, D20, 37x14s, SOA & SF on tons, still ugly.
1978 SJ Wagoneer, 4v360, QT, 33x12.5s, lift by Sawzall :-bd NOT Running :(
1977 SJ J10, SniperEFI 401, QT, D44s, 31X10.5s :fsj:
2006 KJ
Mars wrote:One man's trans leak is another's penetrating oil :D

RamJetFSJ

Re: New to lift kits. What do I need in parts for all the varying lift sizes? (J10/J20)

Post by RamJetFSJ »